Skip page navigation

Skip page navigation

UCASE Personnel

Staff | Steering Committee | Advisory Board | Fellows


Steering Committee

Advisory Board

Ms. Susan Becker
Science/Mathematics Specialist
Indianapolis Public Schools

Mr. Rick Crosslin
Indianapolis Children's Museum

Dr. Jennifer Hicks
Science Consultant
Indiana Dept. of Education

Dr. Mary Glenn Rinne
Indiana Professional Standards Board

Dr. Robert Rivers
Dean School of Education
Purdue University Calumet

Dr. John Staver
Purdue University
Dept. of Curriculum & Instruction

Dr. Mary Stein
Department of Teacher Development and Educational Studies
Oakland University

Ms. Katherine Stiles
Research Associate
West Ed

Dr. Gerald O. Thompkins
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Director for the Center of Academic Excellence
College of Engineering
Wayne State University


What exactly is a Fellow? A Fellow is someone interested in advancing science and mathematics education in an urban setting, grades K-12. UCASE Fellows are offered numerous opportunities to participate in UCASE scholarly and service activities, such as grant proposal writing/development, conducting educational research, offering professional development for preK-16 teachers, mentoring science/mathematics students, assisting in recruiting prospective science/mathematics teacher candidates, developing preK-12 science/math curricular materials, and assisting in UCASE development efforts. UCASE Fellows donate time, each year, to one or more UCASE projects or initiatives. Fellows are appointed for two years with possibility of renewal and will be asked to document UCASE activities once during each academic year.

UCASE Fellows include:

  • Patricia Clark
  • Natalie Barman
  • Ryan Flessner
  • Henry Hernandez
  • Crystal Hill
  • Yogesh Joglekar
  • Paula Magee
  • John Ross
  • Joshua Smith
  • Susan Smith
  • Lenore Tedesco
  • Annela Teemant
  • Chris Thomas
  • Elee Wood
  • Gina Yoder
  • Robert Yost