Skip page navigation

Skip page navigation

Awards and Scholarships

IUPUI Carol D. Nathan Staff Council Scholarship

The IUPUI Carol D. Nathan Staff Council Scholarship Award was established in honor of Carol D. Nathan, Dean of the Faculties (Retired), for her outstanding leadership and contributions to Staff Council and IUPUI.

Nominations Open: July 6, 2016
Deadline to Apply for 2016 Award: August 19, 2016, 5:00 p.m.

For full-time appointed IUPUI Staff


(Qualifications will be verified with the appropriate department on campus.)

  • You must be a full-time staff employee of IUPUI with at least two years of service.
  • You must be pursuing your associate, baccalaureate, or graduate degree at IUPUI.
  • You must have completed 12 credit hours at IUPUI with a GPA of at least 3.0.

All application materials will be treated with confidentiality by the selection committee.

The scholarship will be in the amount of $500 total; $250 awarded at the beginning of the fall and spring semesters, provided the recipient is currently enrolled for at least three credit hours.

Application Process

In order to apply for this scholarship, you must complete the application form and write an essay (approximately 300-400 words) on this topic:

The University strives for every employee to deliver Service with Distinction. Service with Distinction is defined by the University community as, "Service is at the core of everything we do at IUPUI. Every day and with every interaction people are valued and understood, reinforcing the choice to work at IUPUI." To live the Service with Distinction in our roles at IUPUI, eight service standards and associated behaviors have been identified: Ownership/Accountability; Knowledge/Spirit of Excellence; Courtesy; Respectfulness; Engaging; Communication; Initiative; Consistency.

Considering the Service with Distinction definition, standards and associated behaviors, explain how pursuing your education enhances your work performance and enables you to accomplish the goal of delivering “Service with Distinction.”  Highlight your response with examples from at least one of the service standards.

Click here to submit your form online.

Award Winners for 2015

  • Robert Lawson (School of Medicine)
  • Michael Golub (School of Engineering and Technology)