Skip page navigation

Skip page navigation

Awards and Scholarships

Nan Bohan Community Engagement Award

Nominations Open: July 1, 2014
Deadline to Apply for 2014 Award: August 5, 2014, 5:00 p.m.

For full-time appointed IUPUI staff

Through her contributions to campus life and her community, Nan Bohan manifested the spirit of one of IUPUI's central components of its mission: Civic Engagement. The IUPUI Nan Bohan Community Engagement Staff Award recognizes employees who through extraordinary service and special contributions (e.g., professional, committees, or volunteer) enhance the culture of service and civic engagement on campus and in their communities. The recipient of this award will have demonstrated how they have been civically involved through their roles at IUPUI, how they have promoted a philanthropic culture among others on campus, and how they have demonstrated a commitment to serving their communities.

The IUPUI Nan Bohan Community Engagement Staff Award is open to all IUPUI appointed full-time staff members who contribute to the overall mission and success of the University. All nominees for the Bohan Award will receive a letter of notification by email that they have been nominated for the award. The award recipient will receive a letter of congratulations, the appropriate supervisor will be notified, and a $500 award will be made to the recipient. Presentation of the award will be made at the Chancellor's Employee Recognition Convocation in the spring.

To nominate an individual, you must complete the nomination and narrative forms by August 5, 2014. Click here to submit your forms online. If you prefer not to submit your entry on-line, you may download the forms and submit them to the Staff Council Rewards and Recognition Committee, c/o Jim Klenner, Environmental Health and Safety, 980 Indiana Avenue, LV 4th Floor, Indianapolis, IN 46202. See Related Forms below.

The IUPUI Nan Bohan Community Engagement Staff Award is sponsored by the IUPUI Staff Council and administered by the Center on Service and Learning in conjunction with the Rewards and Recognition Committee of Staff Council.

Related Forms:

Past Winners:

  • 2012: Starla Officer
  • 2011: Shari Upchurch
  • 2010: Jeremy Williams
  • 2009: Gloria Quiroz
  • 2008: Dottie Flack
  • 2007 (Inaugural Year): Heyward Guenard and Jonna MacDougall