Senior Academy Annual Meeting 2011

Senior Academy Annual Meeting
Indianapolis Athenaeum
May 12, 2011
2:30 pm

Call to Order: President Giles Hoyt called the meeting to order at 2:30 pm.

President’s Welcome:
Giles Hoyt welcomed those present. He expressed thanks to the Max Kade Institute and the Athenaeum Foundation for use of the meeting room. He then reviewed the Senior Academy (SA) events and achievements for the 2010-2011 academic year. He recognized the work and products of the standing committees of the Senior Academy with a special thanks to all individuals who contributed to the success of the SA through their hard work and creative ideas.
He noted the very successful Last Lecture presented by Distinguished Professor and Dean Emeritus Angela Barron McBride.
Giles recognized and thanked Chancellor Bantz and Dean Sukhatme for their generous support of the Senior Academy. He then introduced IUPUI Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculties Uday Sukhatme.

Dean Sukhatme brought greetings from Chancellor Bantz and himself. He noted the IUPUI administrative support of the Senior Academy and his interest in and commitment to the future success of the academy.
He reviewed successes and progress on the IUPUI campus in the past year and made special note of the IUPUI Impact campaign that is moving forward with great success.

President’s Report:
1. Standing Committee Annual Reports: Giles noted that annual reports for all Senior Academy committees are available for review on the SA web site. Each member present was given a hard copy of the reports.

2. Recognition of board members: Giles introduced the SA board members (remaining and new) and officers.
Class of 2012 Class of 2013 Officers: 2010-2011
Patricia Blake Carlyn Johnson Giles Hoyt (President, 2010-2011)
William Bosron Rose Mays William Bosron (Vice Pres. 2010-2011)
Giles Hoyt Rebecca Van Voorhis Leon Rand (Treasurer 2010-2011)
Nicholas Kellum Rosalie Vermette Marge Applegate (Sec. 2010-2011)
Walter Linne Jeff Vessely
Arthur Mirsky
Shirley Newhouse
Leon Rand

3. Recognition of retiring board members: Giles introduced those board members who have completed their tenure on the board and expressed his thanks for their service: Marge Applegate, Noel Duerden, Theodore Cutshall, Mark Grove, Mary Grove, and Golam Mannan. He noted that in an effort to balance the rotation of board members, two retiring members will be asked to serve one additional year.
4. Officer Nominees: Giles then introduced William Bosron, Chair of the Nominations Committee who presented the nominees for SA offices in the 2011-2012 term:
William Bosron, President
Walter Linne, Vice President
Leon Rand, Treasurer
Margaret Applegate, Secretary
Election of the officers will occur in the board meeting on May 24, 2011.

IU Foundation:
Estacia Medlen Brandenburg, Associate Director of Gift Planning shared ways in which individuals can find creative opportunities to leave a legacy through gifts to the university. She provided informative handouts to all present.

Presentation of the Senior Academy Scholarship Recipients:
Dr. Arthur Mirsky, Chair of the Scholarship committee, presented the winners of the three scholarships supported by the Senior Academy:
1. Freshman IPS Scholarship: Gabriela Figueroa (Major: Pre-Medicine/Biology)
2. Academic Scholarship: Carmanny Gonzalez (Major: Nursing)
3. Returning Student Scholarship: William Atkins (Major: History)

Art reported that all three scholarships have reached an endowment level that guarantees continuation of the awards at their current level. The SA hopes to increase that level through further contributions. The focus of the SA for the campus Impact Campaign will be the three scholarships.

Presentation of the Bepko Community Medallion: Dr. George Rawls
The Bepko Community Medallion was awarded to Dr. George Rawls. This award was created by the IUPUI Senior Academy in 2003 to honor a person who has made a significant and ongoing commitment to strengthen the bonds between IUPUI and the larger community. The 3-inch Bepko medallion bears the image of former IUPUI Chancellor Gerald L. Bepko on one side and the recipient’s name and citation on the other. Recipients are listed on a plaque in the Senior Academy Room at the IUPUI Campus Center.

Dr. William Bosron presented the medallion to Dr. George Rawls. Dr. Rawls’ contributions to IUPUI, the IU School of Medicine, Florida A&M University and the Indianapolis and national communities clearly merit this award. Dr. Rawls has had a long and distinguished career as a surgeon in Indianapolis. He served as President of the Indianapolis and Indiana State Medical Societies. In recognition of his contributions to the medical profession and the community, the Marion County Health and Hospitals Corporation established a scholarship in his honor. Dr. Rawls served as Assistant Dean of Student Affairs and Clinical Professor of Surgery for 5 years at the IU School of Medicine. Indiana University awarded Dr. Rawls an Honorary Doctor of Science Degree in 2001. In recognition of his leadership in Indianapolis and Indiana, Dr. Rawls has received Sagamore of the Wabash awards from both Governor Orr and Governor Bayh. His service to his community goes beyond medicine. He is the author or co-author of five books that include an autobiography and that address issues related to medical education cost and access. He and his wife have endowed scholarships for students in the Master of Science in Medical Science program that Dr. Rawls designed at the School of Medicine to prepare more minority and disadvantaged students for medical school. He has served on the Boards of the Children’s Museum, Urban League and Indianapolis Zoo. His contributions are an example of service to his profession, especially as an outstanding mentor and role model for young medical students and physicians.

Program presentation: Dr. Norbert Krapf
President Giles Hoyt introduced Dr. Norbert Krapf to the assembly. Indiana Poet Laureate Norbert Krapf was born in 1943 in Jasper, Indiana, a German community in southern Indiana. He graduated from Jasper High School and received a B.A. degree in English from St Joseph’s College. He earned both an M.A. in English and a Ph.D. in English and American Literature from the University of Notre Dame with a concentration on American Poetry. Dr. Krapf taught at the C.W. Post Campus of Long Island University (1970-2004) where he is now emeritus Professor of English and where he was Poet Laureate (2003-2007). He also directed the C.W. Post Poetry Center. He twice served in Germany as a Senior Fulbright Professor of American Poetry at the Universities of Freiburg and Erlangen-Nuremberg. He was a U.S Exchange Teacher at West Oxon Technical College in England. In 2004 he moved to Indianapolis to write full time. In June, 2008, he was named Indiana Poet Laureate.

Dr. Krapf shared readings of both prose and poetry from several of his many books. As he shared his love of Indiana and his German heritage through his readings, it became clear why he was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize. All members present enjoyed the opportunity to share with Dr. Krapf, a sample of his body of work.

Adjournment: The meeting adjourned and all present were invited to enjoy a reception featuring traditional German hors d’oeuvres and an optional tour of the historic Athenaeum led by Giles Hoyt.

Respectfully submitted,
Margaret Applegate, Secretary

This entry was posted in Annual Meetings. Bookmark the permalink.