Board Meeting April 8, 2010

Board members present: Marge Applegate, Noel Duerden, Mark Grove, Mary Grove, Joe Hingtgen, Giles Hoyt, Carlyn Johnson, Golam Mannan, Shirley Newhouse, Leon Rand, Sheldon Siegel, Bill Voos, Harriet Wilkins
Board member absent: Ted Cutshall,
Committee Chair present: Walt Linne

Call to order
President Harriet Wilkins called the meeting to order at 10:05 A.M.

Approval of minutes
The minutes of the March 11, 2010, board meeting had been approved by email.
President’s report
President Harriet Wilkins informed the board that the IU Retirees Association will host the Big Ten Retirees Conference in Bloomington on August 20-22 and has invited the Senior Academy to participate. The theme will be “Retirement and the Arts.”

Treasurer’s report
Treasurer Shirley Newhouse distributed reports from March 1- March 31, 2010. She reported that as of March 31 the market value of all funds had risen. Balances were as follows: Senior Academy fund: $5,766; Returning Student Scholarship account: $43,099; IPS Scholarship account: $35,938; Academic Scholarship account: $38,081. Shirley said that the budget office has not yet deducted the SA scholarship contributions and that she would remind them to do so. Mark and Harriet pointed out that the goal is $50,000 in each SA scholarship fund. Based on $50,000 and a 4% return, each fund would return the $2,000 required for each scholarship.

Last Lecture discussion
Committee chair Golam Mannan announced that the selection committee has chosen Professor Emerita of History and Religious Studies Jan Shipps as the 2010 Last Lecturer. Golam also noted a change in date and location for the Last Lecture. It will be held at 1:00 P.M. on Friday, April 30, in the IUPUI Library’s Lilly Auditorium. A reception will follow.

Golam announced that the Last Lecture Committee had approved a design for the lecturer’s plaque and the large plaque listing the first 12 lecturers, which will be hung in the Campus Center’s Senior Academy room. In addition, each plaque will have a brief description of the Last Lecture: Lessons for Life from a Lifetime of Learning. This subtext will denote that the lecturer is a distinguished member of the IUPUI community who will share wisdom gained through academic and life experiences.

A discussion followed regarding honoraria for the lecturers. The Foundation has promised to provide honoraria for 2009-2011. Next year the board will need to decide about honoraria for future lecturers.

Membership Committee report
Joe Hingtgen reported that he, Walt Linne, Ted Cutshall, and Mark Grove staffed a table at the Human Resources program held March 25th for IUPUI faculty and staff nearing retirement. They used the computerized photo display created for the February program and distributed lists of all the programs and social events sponsored by SA. Approximately 50 attendees visited the display and spoke to various SA members. Joe said that many people were surprised that IUPUI has a Senior Academy and expressed interest in becoming members. Harriet added that she had been asked for Senior Academy brochures to be distributed at a luncheon for retiring faculty on May 5.

Program Committee report
Carlyn Johnson announced that attendance was very good at March 23 program on the History of Black Physicians in Indianapolis by Dr. George Rawls. She suggested some plans for next year’s programs, including Marilyn Schultz on Indiana government and township trustees, a medical talk, and a discussion of policies and decisions that led to the recession in the U.S. Other members of the board thanked Carlyn for a good year of programs and suggested possible topics for 2010-11.

Scholarship Committee report
Marge Applegate reported that the committee has received a large number of outstanding applications for all three scholarships: IPS, Academic, and Returning Students. The committee has made recommendations and will soon know which students have accepted the scholarships. Margaret mentioned that the committee received an excellent letter of thanks from last year’s Returning Student scholarship winner. She also mentioned a problem regarding the Returning Student criteria, which does not allow applications from people who have already returned to IUPUI and enrolled in a class. She suggested that the Scholarships and Admissions offices could help by advising students to apply for the SA Returning Student scholarship prior to re-enrolling.

Annual Meeting Committee
Harriet Wilkins announced that the annual meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, May 26, from 2:30-4:30 P.M. Dean Sukhatme will be available to speak. On behalf of the committee, she reported on three possible venues. Based on room costs, food services, and parking, the board agreed that the Athenaeum is the best choice and that the meeting and reception should be held in one room,

The committee is seeking three people who will give a ten-minute talk about their post-retirement avocations and/or adventures. Several possible speakers were mentioned. Walt Linne was asked to email a request for retirees engaged in interesting travel, volunteer work, or new challenges to offer to be speakers.

Nominating Committee report
Chair Bill Voos reported that the committee’s work is progressing well. There will be a meeting of the nominating committee directly after the board meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:27 A.M.

The next board meeting will be at 10:00 A.M. on Thursday, May 13, 2010, in the Glendale Public Library.

The SA Annual Meeting will be held on Wednesday, May 26, at 2:30-4:30 P.M., at the Athenaeum.

On June 10, 2010, at 10:00 A.M., there will be a meeting of the combined current and incoming board members.

Respectfully submitted
Mary Grove, Secretary

This entry was posted in Board Minutes. Bookmark the permalink.