Board Meeting March 11, 2010

Board members present: Marge Applegate, Ted Cutshall, Noel Duerden, Mark Grove, Mary Grove, Joe Hingtgen, Giles Hoyt, Carlyn Johnson, Golam Mannan, Shirley Newhouse, Leon Rand Sheldon Siegel, Bill Voos, Harriet Wilkins

Committee Chair present: Walt Linne

Call to order
President Harriet Wilkins called the meeting to order at 10:07 A.M.

Approval of minutes
The minutes of the February 11, 2010, board meeting had been approved by email.
President’s report
President Harriet Wilkins informed the board that the Last Lecture date has been changed from April 16 to Friday, April 30, at 4 p.m. in the Herron School of Art Auditorium. Bill Voos, who is familiar with the Herron auditorium, said that the space is very nice, with comfortable seating for several hundred, AV and media facilities, and a large screen. In addition, there is a large lobby to use for receptions, and the main gallery is nearby. Parking is convenient and will be validated. Cars may drive to the door to drop off people who have difficulty walking.

Last Lecture discussion
Mark Grove, a Last Lecture committee member, said that Bart Ng is chairing the selection committee. He added that one of the finalists is not available for the April 30 date, but another finalist who had not been available on April 16, will be available on April 30. Leon Rand asked whether it would be desirable to choose a date when all finalists could be present. Harriet replied that, with changes in schedules of the potential finalists, it would be impossible to guarantee a date. She added that finalists would remain on the list in subsequent years.

A discussion followed regarding whether SA should change the “Last Lecture” appellation, because some people have asked whether the lecturer is retiring or terminally ill or leaving the university. The board discussed the question and decided that there is ample tradition to use the term “Last Lecture” to describe a lecture by a distinguished member of an academic community who shares wisdom gained through a life of inquiry, reflection and service.

The board also discussed the costs of receptions following the Last Lecture and SA annual meeting, which in the past have been supported by the Dean of the Faculties. Harriet agreed to follow up regarding financial support for the receptions. (See below for Last Lecture committee report.)

Treasurer’s report
Treasurer Shirley Newhouse distributed reports from February 1, 2010 – February 28, 2010. Shirley reported that as of February 28 the market value of all funds had lost ground. Balances were as follows: Senior Academy fund: $5,647; Returning Student Scholarship account: $42,583; IPS Scholarship account: $35,718; Academic Scholarship account: $ 37,927; Senior Academy checking account: $6,138. Harriet said that she will request a list of SA scholarship contributors and send them letters of thanks. Mark suggested that Kevin Walsh, fiscal officer in the Dean of Faculties office is a good source of contributor and donor lists.

Last Lecture Committee report
Committee chair Golam Mannan had additional information on Last Lecture, having just returned from a meeting with Vice Chancellor for Public and Government Relations Amy Warner and others. Golam reported that Amy said Chancellor Bantz’s choice would be to tie the Last Lecture to the Chancellor’s Honors Convocation, although this would not be possible this year. Amy said that her office will pay the costs of the Last Lecture reception, and the Dean of Faculties will pay for the plaque honoring the lecturer. The costs of the SA Annual Meeting reception will likely be paid by the Dean of Faculties office. Harriet will write to Dean Sukhatme to confirm that support. Golam also reported that Amy’s office will fund free parking as well communication and publicity costs, including a Last Lecture CD. The Senior Academy will pay for a plaque listing all recipients to be placed in the Senior Academy room (CC 264).

Golam reported that the Last Lecture committee received significantly fewer nominations this year, probably due to the fact that the Deans of the schools were contacted for nominees, rather than all faculty members. Golam has proposed that, in order to maximize the number of nominees next year, the invitations for Last Lecturer nominations should go to all faculty, either from the Dean Sukhatme or Senior Academy.

After discussion, the board decided that the Last Lecture title is appropriate and will continue to be used, but a brief subtitle will be added to clarify the choice of a distinguished member of the IUPUI community who will share wisdom gained through academic and life experiences. Golam will also discuss with the Foundation questions regarding honorarium awards.

Membership Committee report
Joe Hingtgen reported that Dottie has sent letters to new retirees informing them of their free one-year membership, which can be extended by paying for either an annual or lifetime membership. Joe asked board members to assist in staffing a table at the Human Resources program for new retirees, which will be held the morning of Thursday, March 25, in the Riley Hospital Auditorium. Ted Cutshall is taking the first shift, and Mark Grove is setting up a PowerPoint of SA photos of social events and programs. More volunteers are needed.

Program Committee report
Carlyn Johnson announced that Dr. George Rawls will speak on the History of Black Physicians in Indianapolis on March 23 at 10:00 A.M. Walt Linne will email an invitation to SA members. Carlyn has also contacted Assistant Chancellor for Diversity Ken Durgans and other organizations who are interested in the topic. She will prepare a poster and ask the Glendale Library to post it as an invitation to the public.

Social Committee report
Mary Grove reported that the last event of this year is an overnight trip to Turkey Run State Park. Jean Gnat is chairing the event, and reservations are due by April 5. Reservations may be made by email ( or phone 1-877-563-4371. Mention that you are a part of the IUPUI group. Also inform Jean Gnat ( or phone 872-3605.

Scholarship Committee report
Marge Applegate reported that the committee has received a large number of applications and will meet to review them.

Other Business: Annual Meeting
President Harriet Wilkins said that the annual meeting will be scheduled for late May, depending on Dean Sukhatme’s schedule. Suggested venues for the meeting included the Athenaeum, the Glick History Center, and the Indianapolis Museum or Art. Giles Hoyt will check on the Athenaeum’s availability, cost, and food services. Leon Rand suggested that the agenda could be enlivened by including a few brief “reports” on exciting things that retirees are doing or have done—travel, volunteer work, adventures, new challenges. Board members enthusiastically concurred with that idea. Harriet, Carlyn, Golam and Leon will meet to develop specific plans for the annual meeting.

Nominating Committee report
Chair Bill Voos urged board members to suggest names of candidates. He announced that there will be a meeting of the nominating committee directly after the board meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:20 A.M.
The next Board meeting will be at 10:00 A.M. on Thursday, April 8, 2010, in the Glendale Public Library.

Respectfully submitted
Mary Grove, Secretary

This entry was posted in Board Minutes. Bookmark the permalink.