About UsNewsletterConventionNCA HomeMerritt Award InfoRitter Award InfoMeeting MinutesFWS/WC Home





Web hosting provided by

IU School of Liberal Arts, IUPUI

Women's Caucus

Feminist and Women Studies Division


Call for Nominations

2009 Francine Merritt Award

For Outstanding Contributions to the Lives of Women in Communication

The NCA Women’s Caucus is calling for nominations for the “2009 Francine Merritt Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Lives of Women in Communication.”


The recipient will be honored at a reception at NCA’s 2009 convention.


Nominate Your Shero

Nominate someone who has made a difference through her scholarship, teaching, mentoring, service, advocacy, or some combination thereof.


Deadline March 1

A complete nomination package consists of the following materials:

  • Letter of nomination outlining candidate’s contributions

  • Nominee’s vita, including contact information

  • No more than 5 letters of support

  • A letter from the nominee accepting the nomination and agreeing to attend NCA’s convention in 2009

You may forward electronic or hard copy nominations. The recipient will be notified next summer.


Send your Nominations & Inquiries to:

Vicky Newsom

Women’s Caucus Past Chair 2009


Communication Studies

California State University, Los Angeles

5151 State University Drive

Los Angeles, CA  90032

Alternate e-mail: vnewsom@calstatela.edu 

Phone: 310.945.7589

Award History

The Francine Merritt Award honors the memory of Francine Merritt, who taught at Louisiana State University between 1947 and 1984 in what was then the Department of Speech. Professor Merritt’s long and distinguished career included her tireless advocacy on behalf of the status of women.

The Francine Merritt Award began as a bequest from Professor Merritt, which her former students and colleagues lovingly turned into reality.

Presented annually by the NCA Women’s Caucus, the Francine Merritt Award recognizes women who have made “outstanding contributions to the lives of women in communication.” Recipients exhibit the kind of selfless work and service that characterized Merritt’s life and inspired her many admirers among NCA women.

Past Recipients

2008        Melbourne Cummings

2006/07   Kathryn Olson

2005        Patrice Buzzanell

2004        Brenda Allen

2003        Judy Pearson

2002        Karen Foss

2001        Jane Blankenship

2000        Carole Blair

1999        Fern Johnson

1998        Mary Roberts

1997        Lois Self

1996        Karlyn Kohrs Campbell

1995        Julia Wood

1994        Marsha Houston

1993        Sonja Foss

1992        Cheris Kramarae

1991        Anita Taylor



Last Updated 19 October 2008


Contact the Web Spinner