2014 Indiana Geographic Bee (26th annual)

The 2014 Indiana Geographic Bee was held on Friday, April 4 on the campus of IUPUI. Dr. Bill Blomquist, Dean of the IU School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI, and Glenda Ritz, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction, provided "welcome and congratulatory" remarks.

Nine of the 100 students had a perfect score after the Preliminary Rounds; they advanced to the Final Round, which constitutes ten students. Nineteen of the 100 students missed only one question during the Preliminary Rounds; they engaged in a Tie-Breaker competition to determine which ONE student would advance to the Finals. Our Indiana students demonstrated how amazingly awesome they are, a reflection of their great education (teachers and home support). THANK YOU to the schools, educators, administrators, parents/guardians, friends, and siblings of all of the participants for your encouragement, support, and love for learning!!!

Final 10 Participants:

  1. Sean Ives, Trinity Lutheran School, Crown Point
  2. Thomas Gatewood, Western Middle School, Russiaville
  3. Ben Foley, Tri-North Middle School, Bloomington
  4. Noah Winegardner, Riverside School, Fishers
  5. Jeremy Rusk, Honey Creek Middle School, Terre Haute
  6. Matthew Rollo, Mt. Vernon Middle School, Fortville**
  7. Pratim Moulik, Carmel Middle School, Carmel**
  8. Mackenzie Burton, Northside Middle School, Columbus**
  9. Eleanor Boyle, St. Patrick School, Chesterton*
  10. Nikhil Palde, Creekside Middle School, Carmel*

** = eliminated during the same Round 4; * = eliminated during the same Round 3

Perfect Scores in the Preliminary Rounds: Eleanor Boyle, Mackenzie Burton, Benjamin Foley, Thomas Gatewood, Sean Ives, Pratim Moulik, Nikhil Palde, Matthew Rollo, and Noah Winegardner.

Missed only 1 during the Preliminary Rounds: Aaron Abell, Mahesh Chaganti, Sam Erb, Andrew Feikema, Gautam Fotedar, Ishani Kumbar, Patrick Loeffler, Shaan Mishra, Michael Morra, Eli Nirenberg, Kyle Onken, Josh Peacock, Louisa Peterson, Jeremy Rusk, Kunhai Shah, Benjamin Stevenson, Andrew Swank, Suyash Uppal, and Carolina Whitaker.

Winning question: In the 1500s, sailors from the Basque region of Europe established a whaling station on the Strait of Belle Isle in what present-day country? (Canada)

State Winner Press Release

List of Top 100 Qualified Students


2014 Geographic Bee Statistics

Semi-Finalist Press Release


Photo Gallery

2014 IN Geographic Bee video via YouTube

2014 National Geographic Bee video via YouTube

Special THANKS to the following IUPUI entities who made the 2014 IN Geographic Bee a great success:  School of Liberal Arts, Department of Geography, Department of Biology, Department of Political Science, Media Design & Production, Information & Technology Services, Facitilities Services, Parking Services, Communications & Public Relations, The Chancellor's Office, Campus Police, and all helpful staff and faculty!!!

Special THANKS to the Indiana Department of Education : Glenda Ritz, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction, and Cory Cochran, Assistant to Supt. Ritz and Pete!

Special THANKS to the Indiana Legislative Education Committee Chairs and their Staff: Robert Behning, Vernon Smith, and Morgan Perrill and Alecia!


Glenda Ritz,

Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction

Sam Graves

Consider This, IUPUI

Department of Political Sciences



to the following three entities for funding the production of the 2014 Indiana Geographic Bee!!!



Lilly Endowment, Inc.


Indiana Geographic Information Council





Watch the 2014 IN Geographic Bee (coming via WFYI TV 20 Indianapolis PBS, May 30, 4:00 p.m. Eastern; contact your local PBS affiliate for viewing information in your area)