It's almost here!
Join the ASU, FSA, KSA, and JSA as we host
The Second Annual Asian Heritage Dinner.

"Our Stories. Our Voice. Our Power."

Dear Campus and Community Partners,

Join Indiana University—Purdue University of Indianapolis as we celebrate The Second Annual Asian Heritage Dinner. The Asian Heritage Dinner series is a collaborative program proudly hosted this year by the Asian Student Union (ASU) in conjunction with the Filipino Student Association (FSA), Japanese Student Association (JSA), and the Korean Student Association (KSA).  The mission behind this year’s dinner is to challenge ourselves to become both better leaders and better neighbors by introducing the theme of “Our Stories. Our Voice. Our Power”.

Keynoting the The Second Annual Asian Heritage Dinner is Professor Emeritus of Ophthalmology, Director of the Equity Institute on Race, Culture, and Transformative Action at IUPUI, Dr. David Suzuki.  He has in the past taught IUPUI’s Asian-American Studies course and is a co-founder of the Asian Pacific American Faculty and Staff Council (APAFSC) as an IU/IUPU system-wide organization.

The purpose of the dinner is to support community partnerships by fostering a greater sense of identity and unity.  Even though there is no single voice that represents the culturally rich and diverse Asian-Pacific American (APA) community,  the Asian Heritage Dinner aims at honoring the stories of each voice to create a lasting legacy of inclusion. The dinner is held at the IUPUI Campus Center (CE) 450 room on Sunday, April 21st, 2013. Doors open at 5:30pm with the event starting promptly at 6:00pm.

We challenge you to join us as we explore identity, leadership, and impact. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about the dinner or sales, then direct those towards the attention of both Sophie Blanco at and Mark Southammavong at or call the Office of Student Involvement (OSI) at (317)-274-3931


Co-chairs: Mark Southammavong, Mary Anne Menciano
Sponsorship: Mark Southammavong, Sean Qiu , Yuka Sato
Advertisement/Marketing: Arinda Permatasari, Sean Qiu
Food: Mary Anne Menciano, Rishi B. Chandra
Decorations: Mary Anne Menciano, and KSA Team
Awards: Kirstie Matsushima, Mary Anne Menciano

Special Thanks to: Shuennhau Chang, Umi Claywell, Pedro Lara